35mm Outtakes

If you scroll back over some of my previous posts, you can see that I recently returned from a month long residency at the MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire.

outtakes1

I know I’ve written this here before, but I spent my time at MacDowell working on a book project about my life in Denver, now called Denver Revisited.

neg2

I spent most of time there organizing a pile of pictures and writings I’d compiled during a number of trips back to Denver over the last several years.

grey-fox102

In organizing all this work, I also made several small zines.  Putting these together was a great way to sketch through ideas, and explore possible narratives in all the pictures and material I had accumulated in all my trips back to Denver.

outtakes3

All the pictures and pages posted here are from the third of three zines I completed at MacDowell.  This one is called 35mm Outtakes:  Excerpts from the City Journals.  All the pictures included are 35mm negatives I made in Denver.  They are all pictures I like, but couldn’t find a place for in the larger narrative project.

macdowell128

In putting together 35mm Outtakes, I explored different ways to combine pictures, looking at form, color, and repetition.

outtakes14

I don’t know what will come of these zines.  I have imagined 1-2 of them published inside a larger book project, like a book within a book.  I am also planning on submitting all three of them to a small but reputable zine publisher based in Switzerland.

neg1

And regardless, even if nothing comes from the zines, I know I enjoyed the process and discoveries I found in putting them together.  In the end that is what really counts.

outtakes-middle1

 

Leave a Reply

