Excerpts from the City Journals

The past few years I’ve been bouncing my photographic pursuits back and forth between Denver and Indonesia.

morality1

I just recently returned from a month long residency at the MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire.  I spent my time there trying to transform a large pile of prints and notes into a draft for my next book, a book of pictures about my life in Denver.

macdowell046

While working at MacDowell, I pulled out pictures I made in Denver and across Colorado dating back to 1991, really trying to better understand my own history as a photographer and how that relates to my time back West.

macdowell055

In processing it all during my residency, I also made 3 zines.  I made them all as a way to help create new thought processes about my pictures, and to find ways to make new kinds of connections with all of the pictures and material I had gathered over the years.

denver-news9

In recent years, I have collected old family snapshots, some of my first pictures while still a student, scans of newspapers of major stories I remember as a kid, and little pieces of writing from my old journals, and all with the ambition of putting together a broader narrative that is both a personal history, but also a history of the city.

guns041

The zines provide a quick and improvisational way to work through ideas that mix all of these different visual sources.

new-denver-scans054

All of the pictures and spreads here are from one of the zines I completed at MacDowell, Excerpts from the City Journals.  It is all hand-printed on a high quality drawing paper, and staple bound.  Included is a short fragment from an early writing by the Situationist International.  The fragment is from an essay my Ivan Chtcheglov called “Formulary for a New Urbanism.”

macdowell044

The goal is still to bring this work to a larger, more complete and ambitious publication of my photographs from Denver, and I think the zines can help pave the way.

macdowell021

One thought on “Excerpts from the City Journals

Leave a Reply

