Fear and Anxiety

This wasn’t a good day.  It was all talk of walls and hatred.

23-steve-bannon-2-w710-h473-2x

I’m not sure I can survive the next four years, the Trump administration might break me.

d307a5c0-51c2-4c07-9656-4b9def6e3d82

Today the Trump administration declared an official war on the media, and really publicly came out with a blatant disregard for facts and honesty.  It took a toll on me, and my afternoon was clouded with fear and anxiety.

steve-bannon

I spent this evening drinking a glass of whisky and flipping through the fantastic book by Michael Christopher Brown, Libyan Sugar.

nn11444697-1024x1024

In the most succinct way, the book is about the Arab Spring and the fall of Libya.

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-8-36-45-pm

Brown’s book reminds me of Ed Grazda’s first book on Afghanistan, or Bill Burke’s books on Vietnam and Cambodia.

I-Want-to-Take-Picture-Bill-Burke-001.jpg

Libyan Sugar is full of bravery and insight, and somehow seemed like the right way for me to spend my night.

donald-trump-tpp-oval-office-january-23-2017-getty-640x480

All signs of the Trump administration point towards complete disaster, and I am having a hard time shaking my fear, anger and anxiety, so thus I am not sure I can withstand the next four years.  It’s a broken world we live in, and tonight it just feels like it is breaking into sharper pieces.

american-whiskey-history

Leave a Reply

