MacDowell/Denver/Java

I am spending the month of January at the MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire, and yet I also feel like I am spanning the world.

nef

Part of it is the view outside my studio, a wonderful glimpse into a unique corner of the world.

img_7652

Working here has also been an incredible privilege.  The people here are amazing, and I have been extremely productive.

brian-arnold-junkyards079

My goal when I arrived was to work on putting together a solid draft of a book of photographs I am making about Denver.

denver-again023

This narrative is constructed with photographs I’ve made working in Denver the past 4-5 years, as well as different archival pictures, snapshots, and old pictures I made when I first started photographing.

ruins2

This all came together very quickly.  I feel I have a pretty solid sequence developed, and I have also completed three zines working with my collection of photographs from Denver.

theater1

(I often make zines as a way to sketch through new ideas, or to supplement longer projects.  This particular zine, Theater for the New City, is made with some of the first photographs I ever made, all from Colorado Springs and my first trip to New York City, all pictures made in the spring of 1991.)

boat-to-lombok

With so many goals for my Denver project accomplished early in my time here, I’ve gone on to proofing pictures from Indonesia, all made between 2014-2016.

yogya-lot

So you see, here in MacDowell I am still traveling back and forth from Denver to Java and back to New Hampshire again.  There is so much to see from the window in my studio.

img_7657

Leave a Reply

