Faith, Fear, and Love

Have a little faith in me, she said.

b18589_049965e21fc24923a67861ec4c2635de.jpg_srz_485_485_75_22_0.5_1

It was a long, somewhat stressful phone conversation.  Our relationship was in a very stressful and trying place, and neither of us were ready to let go.  We were doing it long distance, which made it that much harder.  And we were both at a difficult cross roads.

1896806_10203495736100573_1453015620_n

I had an interesting conversation with a new friend yesterday.  She presented me her theory that all our actions are motivated by love or fear.  I mostly agreed with her, but what we had some disagreement in that I don’t think these two feelings are easily divided.  Indeed, I feel love is most powerful when it can also fully express fear.

installation06

In our conversation, she was trying to help me restore my faith.  Not necessarily in a religious way – though we did discuss that as well, briefly – but more in a sense of self, and believe that my motivations and goals are the right things, and are still worth fighting for.

belfry-exhibition-space

Some friends of mine run a little art gallery in Hornell, NY, in an old church, The Belfry.  I like this idea – I’ve always felt that art and religion are deeply intertwined.

mccarthy_lydia_student_14

LOVE SONG

I lie here thinking of you: –

the stain of love
is upon the world!
Yellow, yellow, yellow
it eats into the leaves,
smears with saffron
the horned branches that lean
heavily
against a smooth purple sky!
There is no light
only a honey-thick stain
that drips from leaf to leaf
and limb to limb
spoiling the colors
of the whole world –

you are far off there under
the wine-red selvage of the west!

William Carlos Williams

heart?

Have a little faith in me, she said.  I know this is hard, but I’m not ready to give up.

Leave a Reply

