Greek Orthodox Church

When I was a kid in Denver, there was a huge, annual festival held at a Greek Orthodox Church in town, the Denver Greek Festival.

wire

I was pretty young, but I still remember going to these festivals.  They were crazy, so many people drunk on Ouzo.  I also remember the gyros and baklava.

weeds

The last time I was in Denver, I went back to this church to photograph.  It was a pretty amazing day, with that uniquely rich Colorado light. late afternoon.

bank

The church is located on the line between the Cranmer Park and Glendale neighborhoods in Denver.

james2

I parked my car in a ratty parking lot underneath the church, and spent the next couple of hours making pictures.  It was a nice afternoon, not only for the light, but because my five year old son wanted to join me; he made pictures on iPhone while I walked around with my Bronica.

church lot1

I made all these pictures that afternoon, a series of silver prints mounted into one frame measuring about 17×68 inches.

james1

It’s part of ongoing series of photographs I’m compiling about growing up in Denver.  I’m heading back West next week, and delight to make pictures again.

greek church mock up

Leave a Reply

