Morning Coffee, Morning Poetry

So I woke this morning, made my coffee, and saw a book on my shelf that I decided to pull down.

IMG_0167

It’s an old book, printed in 1960, by e.e. cummings.  I “borrowed” it once from my mom but never gave it back (she was always a big fan of both cummings and Dylan Thomas).  The cover is amazingly 1960’s, the pages yellowing, and the spine is brittle.  In short, a lovely little book.

IMG_0346

The last time I read the book (who knows when?), I left an odd little thing between some pages to mark a particular poem.  So when I opened it this morning, I opened immediately to these pages.

E._E._Cummings_NYWTS

mr youse needn’t be so spry
concerin questions arty

each has his tastes but as for i
i likes a certain party

gimme the he-man’s solid bliss
for youse ideas i’ll match youse

a pretty girl naked is
is worth a million statues

IMG_0348

I still love this poem, so simple, loving and playful.  A nice thing to read for thing in the morning!

IMG_0209

And I do love my morning coffee!

IMG_0228

Leave a Reply

