Adonis

Truth be told, I don’t think I’d ever really heard of him before.

Aphrodite_Adonis_Louvre_MNB2109

I had a dream last night, but unfortunately I can’t really recall all the details.  I do remember that it was about love.  At the end of the dream, I looked a friend in the eyes, and muttered the name Adonis.

Adonis_Mazarin_Louvre_MR239

First thing I did after waking was look up Adonis.  I swear I’d never heard the name before, but was both delighted and surprised to read about myths, cults,  and symbolism associated with the god.

adonis2

Back in the day, going to college in Colorado Springs (a city well known for both a right-wing Christian movement, a large Wicca coven, and an occultist communities ), I got interested in the occult, gnosticism, and mystery religions of ancient times.

Georges_Gurdjieff

So the dream ended when I looked my friend in the eye and muttered the name Adonis.  Putting it all together – dream/life – past/present/future – I’m delighted by what this dream might be.

Leave a Reply

