Incoming

I am still trying to work together this new project on Denver, which entails sorting through the hundreds of rolls of film I’ve shot, a few images I’ve gathered from the internet, and a small box of family photographs.  And then I also want some of my own writings about my childhood in Denver, and then this current investigation, to make it into the the project.

ramada-inn-denver-downtown-map

I like this particular passage, written while flying into Denver last January.  And I hope some of these iPhone shots might make it in.  All still a work in progress, but I like how my ideas and the pictures are progressing.

pivet

So in preparation for my trip back West, I went online – mostly Facebook – looking for people from my best.  I spent a long afternoon scanning in photographs from a trip to the Canyon Lands in Utah from back in the day, and doing so I spent way too much time on Facebook.  I didn’t attempt much contact, but did send some friend requests, looking at old girl friends, and classmates from high school and even back to elementary school.  Most of my requests were ignored, which really might be for the best actually, because the curiosity and inquiry about these people was the real search; somehow it still feels like part of the journey, a way of reconnecting with who and what I am, as well as what this place means as part of my personal history. 

 I perused the Internet like this for about a week, looking for trances of an earlier self.  When I finally flew into Denver, it was a cloudless day on the eastern plains, with a dusting of snow over the landscape, bits of brown visible beneath this layer.  I took some photographs with my phone out the window of the plane.  Somehow, I wanted this act of looking down to replicate my own looking back.  And I was so excited to be back and photograph, to see what pieces I could find.

pivet_negative

I’m quite interested in how my own photographs today mix with the family pictures from my childhood.  The pieces I’ve discovered have an interesting fit, though that is a harder negotiation than I was expecting.

dannylittle_john12-69

I want multiple facets to the photographic voice, though with one clearly emerging to complete and define the perspective.

brian_arnold_heart

I’ve been photographing seriously since the mid 1990’s, and the puzzles keep getting more interesting, the questions I can find to keep myself engage.  Perhaps that’s why I feel so settled as a photographer.

Leave a Reply

