Dusk to Dawn

305955664_b7bc488e30_m

It rained hard all day until about 3:30 or 4 when it finally lifted.  The sun was working its way out.  I decided to set up camp for the night.  I walked from the parking lot to the site, splashing through puddles the whole way.  The birds up in the trees made a hell of a racket.  I recognized the cawing of crows, but many other joined in too.  It’s like there were taking joy in the rain subsiding.  I set up my tent, and headed back to school to finish up some other work

Foggy_Shoreline

I finished up my work just before dark, and headed back to the lake.  A light fog was rolling from the hills above.  The birds no longer sang, but every 30 or 40 seconds there was a splashing from the otherwise still surface of the lake.  The bugs were out, and the fish were hungry.

first_view

After dark, I decided to turn in.  It was a stressful day, and I was ready to go down early.

Foggy_Dock

Just as I was drifting off, I was awakened by the sound of an animal digging at the tarp I had under my tent.  It wasn’t big, but dug with persistence.  I scared it off after about 5 minutes.  The last sound I heard before drifting off was an owl hooting in the distance.

Morning_Trees

The first I heard in the morning was the sounds of deer eating the grass and foliage around my tent.  They sounded inches from my head.  I crawled out of my tent into a think fog; I couldn’t see the surface of the water at all.

Orange_Truck

I consider it all a little experiment.  After all, life is art, or rather art is how you live your life.

Leave a Reply

