Manifest Destiny

photo-29

For the first time in years, I am driving across country, from Ithaca, NY to Denver, CO.  It’s a journey back home, to photograph and reflect on my roots as an artist and my childhood in Denver.

300px-American_progress

Manifest Destiny.  A good friend put this idea in my head.

lake-in-conejos-canyon-colorado-1874

A play on western expansion and our cultural history, but somehow it seems appropriate.

hi-res

My goal in photographing out west to is to look at my own destiny, to trace back my history to see what I was and what I’ve become.

O1299_HIGHBRIDGE.340145428_std

And in driving back, I feel a transformation.  The physical challenges and discomfort somehow become a psychic transformation, or at least that is what I am trying to convince myself.

il_fullxfull.318163954

Manifest destiny, indeed.  Learning to see myself.

2 thoughts on “Manifest Destiny

Leave a Reply

