Paris, 2008

So I’ve spent most of the day going through an older project, an older series of photographs, in an attempt to reorganize it to facilitate a new project.

Pieces_Title_plate

It’s been nice looking at these pictures again.

Brian_Arnold_Brush_Detail

I think I’ve probably posted some of these pictures here before, but I never said I was without redundancy.

Brian_Arnold_Centerfold

These pictures were all made while pursuing an artist residency in Paris for four months some years back.

panties_web

In the end, I made a small book sort of thing with these pictures, just a small editioned, self-published thing, called Pieces of My Solitude.

Brian_Arnold_ice

The pictures are all silver prints, but employ a number of different printing techniques, utilizing gold, sulfer, selenium, and Lipton tea, and a variety of different paper surfaces (geeky darkroom stuff).

Brian_Arnold_Rainy_Day

The bound photographs were accompanied by short passage of writing, a poem by John Berryman.

Brian_Arnold_Empty_Bag

Dream Song 1:  Huffy Henry hid the day

Huffy Henry hid the day,/unappeasable Henry sulked./I see his point,- a trying to put things over./It was the thought that they thought/they could do it made Henry wicked and away./But he should have come out and talked.

All the world like a woolen lover/once did seem on Henry’s side./Then came a departure./Thereafter nothing fell out as it might or ought./I don’t see how Henry, pried/open for all the world to see, survived.

What he has now to say is a long/wonder the world can bear and be./Once in a sycamore I was glad/all at the top, and I sang./Hard on the land wears the strong sea/and empty grows every bed.

Brian_Arnold-band_aid

(Interesting little aside, when I took the train in from Dedham, MA, into downtown Boston back in 1996, to interview for the Mass Art graduate program, I had a John Berryman book with me to read on the train.  I had it under my arm when I sat down to talk with Abe Morell; he seemed interested in my choice of books.)

night_web

Those four months in Paris were good to me, in regards to developing the creative self I am today, the voice I have as a photographer.

Brian_Arnold_Sadie_Baby

So I suppose, thus, it stands to reason that I still like these pictures (at least most of the time).

Brian_Arnold_Picture_Notes

I hope something of the aura I see/feel in these pictures can be there for others too, so that by reorganizing these pictures today, I can facilitate that next opportunity.

Brian_Arnold_Autoportrait

Leave a Reply

