The Front Lines

It was just 20 degrees in Ithaca this morning, but I went for a jog anyway.

Martin+Parr-+New+Brighton

And I had a thought; I mean after all, my blood was really flowing.

contactparr-04

In his interview in ContactsMartin Parr says he is on the front lines, because (from his position of privilege), he is out documenting middle and working class life, where the real meaning of culture lies.

Alice in Wonderland

My thought, perhaps photographers like myself are really on the front lines.  I don’t photograph from great privilege, ego, or with great access.  I don’t it for a job, but rather because I can think of no better way to make meaning from my own life and experience.  I really just make pictures out of a love of photography.

Brian Arnold Education Book

I am photographing from the front lines because I am photographing my life.

Leave a Reply

