The Little Differences

So today I was talking to a friend/acquaintance of mine about a project I am trying to put together in Indonesia.

She is an anthropologist at Cornell, and did her field work in Indonesia.  I am working on trying to put together a research proposal to sponsor my photographing in Java.

I was trying to explain to her why I think it is different in putting together a research proposal as an artist rather than as an academic.  I was fumbling, and I am sure I appeared as a dumb-ass (perhaps because I am?).

It was afterwards that I figured out a good way of explaining the distinction; I work from a feeling more than a thought or a rationalization.

Leave a Reply

