Poetry Books

My mom kept a number of books by e e cummings and Dylan Thomas around.  She was a big fan of these writers when still a student.

I can’t tell a lie, but I never really read anything by Dylan Thomas.  I did often pick up this small and tattered little anthology she kept by e e cummings.  The binding was coming apart, with signatures and pages separating from the whole; it was obviously a book my mom had spent a lot of time with.

mr youse needn’t be so spry/concernin’ questions arty

each has his own tastes but as for i/i likes a certain party

gimme the he-man’s solid bliss/for youse ideas i’ll match youse

a pretty girl who naked is/is worth a million statues

e e cummings

I also shared my mom’s enthusiasm for Tom Robbins, Even Cowgirls Get the Blues.

One thought on “Poetry Books

Leave a Reply

