The Fetishists



The Host

According to their need,/      this tall Negro evangelist/    (at a table separate from the/rest of his party):/these two young Irish nuns/                        (to be described subsequently);/and this white-       haired Angelican/ have come witlessly/    to partake of the host/         laid before them (and for me)/by the       tired waitress.

It is all/(         since       eat we    must)/most sacred by our common need./The evangelists assistants/are most open in their praise/though covert/as would be seemly/in such a public/place.  The nuns/                  are all black,a side view./  The cleric,/his head bowed to reveal/his unruly poll/dines alone.

My eyes are restless./    The evangelists eat well,/fried oysters and what-not/at this railway restaurant.  The Sisters/ are soon satisfied.  One/on leaving,/                       looking straight before her under steadfast brows,/reveals/                           blue eyes.  I myself/have brown eyes/and                                  a milder mouth.

There is nothing to eat,/seek it where you will,/but the body of the Lord./The blessed plants/         and             the            sea, yield it/to the      imagination/intact.        And by that force/    it becomes real,/bitterly/           to the poor animals/who suffer and die/that we may live.

The well-fed evangels,/the narrow-lipped and bright-eyed nuns,/                          the tall,/                   white-haired Anglican,/proclaim        it by their appetites/as do I also,/            chomping with my worn-out teeth:/the Lord                 is my shepherd/    I shall not want.

No matter how well they are fed,/how daintily/               they put the food to their lips,/      it is all             /   according to the imagination!/Only the imagination/      is real!  They have imagined it,                   /   therefore it is so:  /of the evangels,/with the long legs characteristic of the race-/only        the docile women/of the party smiled at me/when with my eyes/         I accosted them      .                           /The nuns-but after all/I saw only a face, a young face/cut off at the brows./It was a simple story./The cleric, plainly/from a good school,/interested me more,/a man with whom I might/carry on a conversation.

No one was there/save only                            for            /                       the food.  Which          I alone,/being                                                       a poet,/could have given them./But I                                       /had only my eyes with which to speak.

William Carlos Williams

2 thoughts on “The Fetishists

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.

    I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well.
    In fact your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own site now.
    Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your
    write up is a great example of it.

Leave a Reply

