For Antonin Artaud

If you scroll back a ways, you’ll find my rememberance of a performance/happening I attended back in 1991.  Looking around youtube, I found this video document of the same I night I describe.

If you watch these recordings, you’ll see the painted lady I describe, the flaming hubcap, and I think I even offer a cameo appearance myself.

I always thought this ensemble, Crash Worship, was the perfect enactment of Artaud’s theories found in The Theatre and Its Double, specifically the essay “The Theatre of Cruelty.”

Leave a Reply

