That Melancholy

e-e-cummings

(my tears are full of eyes)….Because

only the truest things

are true because they can’t be true

e.e. cummings

I listened to a recording of e.e. cummings in the darkroom tonight.  I just had to share these lines from that melancholy, so lovely.  e.e. cummings’ work is a wonderful mix of power and delicacy.  I love how he can speak to such profound crisis, and yet maintain an incredible sensitivity, balanced by wit and lightness.  I hope some of these characteristics find their way into my creative work.

Leave a Reply

