An Ongoing Love of Books

If you look back a few pages, you might recall a recent project I’ve started.  I have been finding old books, ripping them apart, and then using the spine and boards to make new books of my own.

brian-arnold-wittengenstein

I’ve continued with this project, and I find myself becoming ever more interested.  I chose the original books based on both the subject matter, as well the physical and visual qualities of the books.

I am also attracted to some of the other possibilities of this work.  In tearing the books apart, I am challenging their original meaning, challenging the primary intent of the book.  Philosophically, I find this quite interesting.  Language and meaning are in flux.  The source of meaning is elastic.

These new works also reference an earlier project, Short Stories, a series of photographs I made in libraries, pictures of books.

Leave a Reply

