Retro

My first job in photography was at the Colorado Historical Society.  I spent my time there printing glass plate negatives for exhibitions, and combing through the collection.  It was this time my love of early photographic processes really began.

Since then, I’ve developed my own little collection of daguerreotypes, tintypes, ambrotypes and other such things.  Mine is a small collection, but I think it’s a good one.

ch6_warp_daguerreotype

There are a number of things I like about these old photographs.  Chief among these are the jewel boxes that often house the pictures.  Opening the embossed box, lined with velvet, and finding the photograph is like opening a secret, and getting an intimate glimpse at somebody’s life.

tin_type_photo_1860

With that in mind, I’ve started a new, small series of photographic books.  I’ve recently been collecting old books, cutting out the pages, and then using the boards and leftover binding to make my own books.

brian-arnold-anatomy092

brian-arnold-anatomy093

Perhaps more than books, each of these reads like a daguerreotype.  Inside each binding is just one picture.

brian-arnold-bird-book0891

brian-arnold-bird-book090

Sometimes I do keep one or two of the original pages, kind of like the velvet lining of a daguerreotype box.

brian-arnold-bird-book091

I hope to make 15-20 of these little books.

Leave a Reply

