R.I.P.

My father died the other day, at 68. It’s difficult to explain what this really means to me, because I’m still trying to figure out what he really means to me. Family is a complex and elusive thing.

In thinking of his death, I’ve been thinking of some of the better memories I have of him. One thing that came to mind was the famous Arlo Guthrie recording Alice’s Restaurant. There was a time when my father played this recording for me at each of my visits, so in a way I think of it as a piece of my childhood with him.

Click here to listen to Alice’s Restaurant.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P.

Leave a Reply

