Confusion

These are extracts from a recent email exchange with a friend of mine (who is actually a very well known photographer):

Me:

I hope your summer is going well. I’ve struck a nice balance of work and rest, though I feel a little confused about where my work is going right now. I’m hoping if I continue to work it through it will become clearer to me.

She:

I LIVE in CONSTANT confusion of where my work is going. The trick for me is to strike a balance where self-forgiveness is concerned. Hard.

I frequently tell me students that we all work out of confusion. I suppose sometimes I need to be reminded of this myself.

2 thoughts on “Confusion

  1. I was updating my neglected LinkedIn profile and saw the link to your blog. I like this post and the images on the blog. The header photo is a wonderful combination of loveliness and weirdness. I feel bad that I never took you up on your offer of a tour of the ceramics facilities at Alfred, and now I’m on a (probably permanent) sabbatical from pottery.

  2. Thanks, this was a good reminder for me too. I didn’t think I could be more confused than when I was a student but working solo proves to be just as difficult, if not more so!
    I finally read your post about the Biennial as well… I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree, about Karen Kilimnik at least!

Leave a Reply

