Notes on a Work in Progress Part 2

The real material of my work is the life being lived.

I really can see no other option than to photograph my life, all that I see everyday. I hope my photographs illustrate my struggles and aspirations, and the incredible enigma that is this.

So whether it is these pictures of my kids, or these nudes, I hope my pictures show the struggle between what I see and what I believe, or at least what I feel. This is my life, and it is all I’ve got; I hope it is enough.

As John Berger said: “The photograph is a manifesto of a life being lived.” Or in writing about Paul Strand, Berger wrote, “One has the strange impression that the exposure time is the lifetime.”

Leave a Reply

