The System

I am presently looking to get funding to complete a small book project. The book is called The Alchemist. The following is a statement I wrote for a grant I am pursuing to complete the project. The book, if all goes as planned, should be done by the end of the summer. If you are interested, contact me and I will let you know when it becomes available.

light-buld.jpg

The Alchemist begins with the presumption that materials have meaning. This work is about a material process I’ve come to associate with my own self-discoveries as a photographer. When I first discovered photography, part of the seduction was in the technical magnificence of it, the sure wonder of making images in metal. This remains just as important to me today. Even more, the whole material process of black and white photography seems an essential part of the meaning I’ve learned to discover in my pursuits.

The pictures in The Alchemist are all simply photographs of some of the tools kept in my darkroom – thermometers, dictionaries, negatives, chemistry, etc… The work of The Alchemist, however, is greater than the sum of its parts. The title suggests another important presumption I have with my pursuit of photography; while materials have meaning and a presence themselves, the real pursuit happens when these materials come in concert with the imagination.

Presented as a book, The Alchemist will allow the reader to make these connections. The pictures are deceptive, simple and unadorned. With the final product, my hope is to memorialize a process, simple at its core, but magical in its possibilities.

brian-arnold.jpg

Leave a Reply

